Tags

, , , , ,

Good morning to you on this Fashion Friday! I was recently reading about some wearable spring fashion trends and one that caught my eye was peplum.

pep·lum (p p l m). n. pl. pep·lums. 1. A short overskirt or ruffle attached at the waistline of a jacket, blouse, or dress.

And I say, hello there pretty peplum, we were made for each other…..literally.  You see I have the type of figure that is flattered by a fitted waistline and curve everywhere else. Put me in one of those uber-cute sheath dresses and my tatas stick out just far enough to make me look like I’m wearing a tent. The peplum style works so well for me because most pieces have a good cinch at the waistline.  Some inspiration for some peplum pretties I would like to put in my closet…..

1. Dorothy Perkins Neutral Ponte Peplum dress 2. MARCHESA Laser Cut Cocktail Dress  3. Marc Jacobs Satin-Peplum Crepe Top & Polka-Dot Crepe Mermaid Maxi Skirt 4. YY studio White Virgin Wool 1/2 Sleeves Peplum Flared Hem Winter Victorian Lady Suit Top 5. Purple Short Skirt with Peplum from Alice and Olivia 6. Vintage peplum sewing patterns from Glass of Fashion 7. Lowie Peplum Dress 8. Pink Dorothy Perkins Peplum slash neck dress 9. MATTHEW WILLIAMSON Silk Blend Peplum Skirt 10. McCall 1940s Peplum Dress Pattern 11. Givenchy Peplum Dress 12. Project D by Dannii and Tabitha Orchid Imagine Print Dress

And don’t you just love saying it? Peplum….I don’t know about you, but I’m saying it in a British accent and pretending I’m in Downton Abbey.  And if you weren’t doing it before you totally just did.  See? Sounds 1000 times better.

