Tags

, , ,

I have found that now that friends know I am an upholsterer and that I love bringing new life to old furniture, they are always on the lookout for new potential projects for me.  I regularly have friends send me photos of furniture they see in antique stores, flea markets, or just on the side of the road (my friends also know I’m huge garbage picker…..).  My parents have recently started keeping their eyes peeled for projects for me too! On a recent visit to an antique store in my hometown in NB, they found me something really great…but before I show you, one of the best small town stories ever came out of my Mom’s visit to this store….you see, my mom arrived at the door to the store (which is in a house) and it was locked, but there was a sign on the door and it said, “Gone to the hairdresser, be back in an hour. There are items in the shed you can take a look at, it’s unlocked.  Please don’t steal anything.”  This is why I love small towns. Amazing, no?  Anyhoo, here is the piece my parents got and are bringing to me when they come to visit in November….

I KNOW, RIGHT?  Amazing. And she is asking only $100…..it’s got to be from the late 1800’s…such a steal! I am picturing it in an amazing fabric…totally prettied up. And the upholstery will be a great challenging project for me! Excited. They also sent me a link for a auction being held on Monday in Saint John, by Tim Isaac a local auctioneer who also has a retail antique store and gallery in the City.  He is one of the most well known antique dealers and auctioneers in the Maritimes and his dedicated to preserving Maritime Heritage is widely known.  Here are just a few of the 400+ items up for auction on Monday that I would like to have….

Gorgeous coverlet circa 1830’s

Look at the detail of the that woodwork.

stunning

love the shape of the back of these dining chairs

Pink, gotta love pink…..

not sure where I would put this but I kinda love it’s dual-purpose-ness….

beautiful and colourful

Again, love the shape….

simple & elegant

I have never seen anything like this…..so unique.

love the yellow and gold

front all bench idea (with new fabric)…

more pink…love old china.

cute chair for an empty corner

oil lamps are so pretty

another great shape!

Love these but I might try to find bulbs that didn’t stick out of the top…

I’m a sucker for shape apparently

The artist wasn’t given but I love these colors.

And there are TONS of other items on the list, you can check it out here. So, since I am trying to curb my spending, a least a little bit, I’m likely not going to get any of these things….sad. PLUS, I don’t think my parents were exactly offering to go on my behalf by sending this to me, they just knew I would love looking through it. BUT, I will say that going to an auction is on my to-do list for this year, for sure.

Have a lovely Saturday!

XO,

