Good Morning!  It’s been a busy yet fun week.  On top of my regular work (which has been pretty busy itself lately), I attended a couple of fun post-work events. Last night I went to a Tweet-up at the Fall Home Show, organized by rock star Tina Holmes (who also organized whole Fall Home show by the way), caught up with some new and old Tweeps and sampled Steven and Chris vinos! My camera battery died so I didn’t get any photos but a good time all around.  However the focus of this post is the event I attended on Wednesday which was the Chair Affair 2011 supporting the Furniture Bank.

The Chair Affair showcases the designs of many prominent Toronto artists and designers who donated their talents and their time to create a unique and furniture/art pieces made out of ordinary chairs from the Furniture Bank warehouse. The pieces were then were auctioned off in both a silent auction, as well as selected items which were auctioned live.  Now considering this is what I love to do on a daily basis, recreating old furniture into new, this was totally up my alley!  And for a great cause!

Since 1998, Furniture Bank has been helping families by collecting and distributing donated furniture and household items to women and children escaping violence, refugees and the homeless. In 2010, Furniture Bank served 2,527 families, impacting more than 5,000 people. In addition, this service also preserves the environment by recycling and repurposing items that would otherwise go to landfills. More than 1,200 metric tonnes of solid waste were diverted last year alone.  If you have gently used furniture items to donate you can get more information here.

The food and entertain were great, but the best part was the amazing chairs….oh and the live auction.  I have never been to an auction but now I’m hell bent on going to one, mostly thanks to this amazing auctioneer….

loved her….some of my favourite quotes of the night from her…..

“If you are waiting to ask permission, remember it’s a lot easier to ask forgiveness”

“Sir, in an auction, its only your turn every other time”

You can see all the chairs and read about who designer them as well as see the before shots here, but here are some of the highlights…..

Aren’t they just fabulous??  Love them….now I just have to figure out how to submit my own chair next year!

XO,

