Tags

, , , , ,

Hello! Although I have been back from vacation for awhile, I finally got a chance to go through my photos, so there will be at least a couple of posts this week that include those.  Today I’m sharing some treasures from my family’s cottages in Oak Point, New Brunswick.  First a little backgrounder….my grandfather on my Mom’s side is a United Church Minister and one the churches he was assigned to happened to be in my father’s hometown, and so the families met through the church. My Mom’s family already had a cottage in Oak Point and my Dad’s family often went to visit them there. Then my grandfather on my Dad’s side decided to build a cottage there too!  My parents fell in love during thier summers there, got married, bought the cottage from my grandparents and my Mom’s parent kept their cottage down the road. And the rest, as they say, is history.

Now our cottage is a real cottage – lots of random items, not a lot of co-ordination and it is typically the place where old things from my parents house go to live our their remaining useful lives.  The treasures I’m going to share are a few items from our cottage as well as my grandfather’s cottage that are either cool vintage decor or things that I just love….

Red door on my grandfathers cottage….

Vintage Saltines container where we have kept matches for as long as I can remember…..

This isn’t really vintage but I bought it for my Mom for her birthday many years ago and still love it!

Not sure what this is but I like it, and it’s been in our cottage as long as I have!

Found these vintage books in my grandfather’s cottage….so great!

The crystal doorknob on my bedroom door…..

old school 7 up bottle….great for wildflowers…

And this doesn’t look like anything too fancy, just a simple painting –  but it’s the excerpt from a poem by Sam Walter Foss (you can read the whole poem here) on the bottom  that draws me to it…it reads:

“Let me live in my house by the side of the road
Where the race of men go by;
They are good, they are bad, they are weak,
They are strong,
Wise, foolish – so am I.
Then why should I sit in the scorner’s seat
Or hurl the cynic’s ban? –
Let me live in my house by the side of the road
And be a friend to man.”

’nuff said.

XOXO,

Lindsey

 

