Tags

,

I love cane-backed furniture. They make me think of lounging on a wrap-around porch of with a tall glass of lemonade on a fancy plantation home in the south, and wearing a hat with a really wide brim. There are so many types of caning but my favorite is the basic strand weave which gives the circle pattern.  I love furniture that is upholstered but also has other unique features (like caning, interesting legs, wood detailing).   I’m in the process of reupholstering a cane back chair for my living room.  It is almost complete, but has been put to the side while I work on projects for others.  If you are interested in the history of cane furniture Apartment Therapy did a great post last July, which you can find here: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/ny/retrospect/cane-furnitureretrospect-120672

Here is a gallery of some upholstered cane-back chairs that I think are lovely.  Enjoy.

